Who We Are – John Raitt Awards for Youth (JRAY)

Mark you calendars for next year’s 2017-2018 10th Annual JRAY Awards Show on May 26, 2018, 1:00-4:00 PM at Plummer Auditorium, Fullerton.


The John Raitt Awards for Youth (JRAY)

The JRAY Program operates under the umbrella organization of Fullerton Civic Light Opera Music Theatre (FCLO), under the direction of General Manager, Griff Duncan. FCLO was established in 1971 and is a nonprofit association.

In addition to over 200 awards given locally for achievement, both the Performer of the Year (Male) and Performer of the Year (Female), will be awarded $1500 and sent to New York for a one week intensive workshop with Broadway Professionals and then showcased before Broadway Casting Directors. For details see broadwayartistsalliance.org.

Academy of Music and Performing Arts at Hamilton High School
Beverly Hills High School
Capistrano Valley High School
Chadwick High School
Citrus Valley High School
Fullerton Union High School Academy of the Arts
Huntington Beach Academy for the Performing Arts
Laguna Hills High School
Los Alamito High School
Los Angeles County High School for the Arts
Marina High School
Mater Dei High School
Mira Costa High School
Mission Viejo High School
Newport Harbor High School
Orange County School of the Arts
Orange Lutheran High School
Palos Verdes High School
Redondo Union High School
San Clemente High School
San Juan Hills High School
Temple City High School
Tri-School Theatre
Village Christian School
Yorba Linda High School

The judges will meet in the next few months to schedule the dates we will be attending your school’s musical. Each director will be contacted by one of the JRAY team via email to provide you with the date of our attendance and to order tickets (there will be 5-7 judges).

The award show will be held on Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 1:00 PM at Plummer Auditorium, 201 East Chapman, Fullerton, CA 92832.

Some tickets will be provided free of charge to each participating school. If additional tickets are needed, they will be sold for $10 per student, and $15 per parent/family member. The general public ticket fee will be $20. In addition to funding the JRAY Program, the proceeds will help send our winning actor and actress to New York to participate in the Broadway Artists Alliance (BAA).

The participating schools will be invited to perform on stage for a 2-5 minute cutting of their adjudicated musical. A guest panel of professional performers will adjudicate these performances, and there will be a trophy presented to the winning show of the day.

Each category will have nominees as voted upon by the panel of judges. All nominees will be presented with an medallion. The first place winner will receive JRAY’s prestigious trophy. The award-winning performances and recognition for students and schools are still in development and include, but not limited to the following categories.

Actress (Lead)
Actor (Lead)
Featured Actress (in a Lead Role)
Featured Actor (in a Lead Role)
Supporting Actress
Supporting Actor
Cameo – Male
Cameo – Female
Dancer – Male
Dancer – Female
Soloist – Male
Soloist – Female
Student Orchestra
Stage Manager
Crew/Technical Execution
Director of the Year
Show of the Year

Discretionary Awards (as applicable): To recognize a student-driven production of excellence in various categories, such as costuming, choreography, scenic design, lighting, etc. The determination will be made by the judges on a school-by-school basis when adjudicating the musical.

Each year JRAY will send two winners (one female and one male) to Broadway Artists Alliance (“BAA”) in New York City to attend their one-week summer workshop intensives and master classes conducted by Broadway professionals – culminating in solo performances before industry professionals and casting agents. Additionally, the two winners will receive a cash award from JRAY for $1,500 each.

Wins both a prestigious JRAY Trophy and a cash award of $1,000 to their school theatre arts’ department.

Four $1000 scholarships are currently given at the awards ceremony based on merit/ grade point/ school participation and need. Nominations must be made from a participating school to be eligible. The program is seeking funding to increase these scholarships in the future.

Judy Bland – 20+ years experience as a producer for high school plays and musicals
Peter Bland – Professional Actor, 20 years as a high school drama teacher and director of musical shows
Neil Caplin – Technical background including set design, set construction, set execution, lighting, graphic design
Bob Curley – Educator/Principal in the Irvine School District
Diana Gordon – Professional Actress
Leslie Trayer Harvey – Professional Actress/Dancer/Choreographer
Gary Gordon – Professional Actor/Director
Roberta Kay – Emmy award winner and Emmy nominee for her work on PBS SoCal/KOCE. Singer/dancer/actress who has worked with Tom Hanks, Michael Keaton, Andy Williams, Harvey Korman, Debbie Reynolds, Dionne Warwick, Big Bird, among others! She has 29+ years directing and/or choreographing musicals for summer stock, civic light opera, grand opera, night clubs, community theater, private and public schools and educational programs.
David MacInnis – FCLO Board Member, 20+ years theatre experience
Eydie MacInnis – Retired School Teacher, choreography, performance, backstage, props, and costume experience
Matthew J. Schwartz – Technical background including set construction and execution, prop design and construction, specialties construction, marketing, advertising and design

Griff Duncan – CEO FCLO Music Theatre (JRAY Sponsor)
Michele Leighton – Producer and JRAY Program Coordinator
Vicki Schindele – Director/Liaison for Annual Award Show

Our goal is to help promote each school’s theater program and encourage community involvement/support through media releases.

Michele Leighton, meleighton@cox.net
Vicki Schindele, vickischindele@gmail.com
Griff Duncan, fulclo@sbcglobal.net